RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » Sleeping car alternatives

Author Topic: Sleeping car alternatives
lakeshorelimited
Member # 576

Rate Member
Icon 10 posted      Profile for lakeshorelimited     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'm studying abroad in Russia right now and took a round-trip from Moscow to St. Petersburg last weekend and want to share my experience.. I know this it's not about Amtrak, but i was wondering what you all thought this might be a good idea. On the trains here there's "soft" class- 2 people per room, "hard" class- 4 bunks (also called couchettes) in a compartment, bottom two are couches by day, beds by night, and a small table.. plus there's the usual coach class, etc. We rode in "hard" class which really wasn't that bad. A little tight, but still was bed, nonetheless. It's a cheaper alternative to a "traditional sleeper", but more comfortable than coach. Has Amtrak ever had something like this in the past? Is this what's equivalent to VIA's "upper berth" and "lower berth" accomodations on their trains?

I think it would be a good idea, because while you get less passengers per car than coach, I think they would sell very well due to the lower price. If dinner wasn't included, that would keep the First class sleepers at an advantage (and justify the higher price.)

I realize Amtrak doesn't have a ton of money to throw around on new equiptment. What do you guys think?

Posts: 140 | From: Albany, NY | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Trainperson
Member # 1084

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Trainperson     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote