RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » » Model Railroading » Newbie Questions

Author Topic: Newbie Questions
gmark
Member # 339

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for gmark     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hey everyone,
I'm a newbie here and I have a few questions about this sport that I hope someone will be able to help me with.
I started out with a Bachmann On30 set with the E-Z Track. The track is great, it goes together easily with good conections, but I'm not sure it's suited for a model layout. Before I get too much money dropped into this track what should I be looking at?
I'm also interested in the best Loco's and cars. I have the Bachmann Southern & Colorado On30 and have 3 Rivarossi locos and car sets on order in HO. I'm really interested in who the best manufacturers are so I'm not wasting my money on cheap equipment.
I would really appreciate any advise.

The Mark

Posts: 5 | Registered: Jan 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Mike C
Member # 35

Rate Member
Icon 6 posted      Profile for Mike C     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I work in HO scale and this is what I like. Proto 2000 by Lifelike, Bachman Spectrim, Athearn Genisis. are all good choices for locomotives and cars. Also good for cars are regular Athearn, Red Caboose, MDC. Rivrossi makes a good product also, just make sure you dont get the older runs with the deep flanges. They all had poor motors in them. Bachman is bringing out more for their On30 line, If you like the narrow guage.HTH.....Mike
Posts: 97 | From: Columbus Ohio USA | Registered: Jul 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
jcater
Member # 31

Rate Member
Icon 12 posted      Profile for jcater   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Welcome!!