RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » » Model Railroading » Dissimilar couplers

Author Topic: Dissimilar couplers
Mr. Toy
Member # 311

Member Rated:
Icon 5 posted      Profile for Mr. Toy   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I am pretty new to to this model train stuff. I got a Life-Like Double Train Express set for my birthday a couple months ago. For Christmas I got two Athearn freight cars, three Athearn passneger cars, one Bachmann freight car, and an Athearn locomotive.

I'm having a problem sith dissimilar couplers. The original Life-Like cars and locos have the older black couplers that looke like a T that is bent kinda funny. I don't know what you call them.

The Athearn loco, the Bachmann freight and the passenger cars all have the more realistic looking couplers that are brown (I don't know what you call them either). One Athearn freight came with the older black crooked T couplers, and one came with both types. So I've got a hodge podge of coupler styles.

The couplers from the Life-Like cars have a very small pivot hole while all of the others have a relatively large pivot hole, so they are not interchangable. The dissimilar couplers will connect, but not neatly. They will easily disconnect if I back the train up and then go forward, but if I want to take them apart they never seem to want to let go!

I can easily get all of the newer type couplers for my Athearn freight cars, but does anyone know where I can get the same type that will fit in my Life-Like cars with the smaller hole?

------------------
Trust God, love your neighbor, and never mistake opinion for truth.
-Mr. Toy

Posts: 2649 | From: California's Monterey Peninsula | Registered: Dec 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
jcater
Member # 31

Rate Member