RailForum.com
TrainWeb.com

RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » » Model Railroading » RADIUS FOR MAC 90 ON HOME LAYOUT ?

Author Topic: RADIUS FOR MAC 90 ON HOME LAYOUT ?
lark
Member # 446

Rate Member
Icon 5 posted      Profile for lark     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Will be starting a home layout and will be running MAC 90's. No one in my area runs such equipment. Using 3rd PlanIt to design the layout and have a few 30" curves and would like to hear from anyone that could offer advice. I'm not a prototypical nut, however I don't want these things to look stupid after my design is done and bench work started. Layout is considred to be club sized, so if anyone from private/club individual with anything to offer would be helpful...lark@sky.net
Posts: 5 | From: lee's summit, mo usa | Registered: Jan 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Throttle_JCKY
Member # 354

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Throttle_JCKY   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Well I have planned all my curves to be no less then 34", I have several C44-9W's and they bite hard on the 30" curve I have, alot of times derailing the lead wheels.

Posts: 62 | From: HC, IN, USA | Registered: Jan 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
lark
Member # 446

Rate Member
Icon 5 posted      Profile for lark     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
TO: THROTTLE JCKY; DO YOU YOU USE EASEMENTS FOR ALL YOUR CURVES. I HAVE SEVERAL 44'S AS WELL AN DIDN'T HAVE ANY PROBLEMS ON MY LAST LAYOUT.
Posts: 5 | From: lee's summit, mo usa | Registered: Jan 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Throttle_JCKY
Member # 354

Rate Member