RailForum.com
TrainWeb.com

RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » » Rail Industry » Effects of temperature extremes on rails?

Author Topic: Effects of temperature extremes on rails?
rwood1682
Member # 435

Rate Member
Icon 5 posted      Profile for rwood1682     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
OK, I am a novice so this is probably a dumb question, but...

Do temperature extremes have any significant impact on rails, i.e., is there enough expansion/contraction to cause problems? If so, how do railroads deal with it? Is the impact different on welded vs. jointed rail?

------------------
Rich

Posts: 1 | From: Powell, Ohio, USA | Registered: Jan 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Cdr.Dick
Member # 408

Rate Member
Icon 7 posted      Profile for Cdr.Dick     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote